• 1922 - Treaty 11 signed at Francois, BC by Acho Dene Koe First Nation members.

    Although the Treaty was signed, the majority of its provisions were never implemented.

  • 1990 – Failure of the Dene / Métis Agreement-in-Principle

  • 1990’s - Regional claims by the Gwich’n, Sahtu and Dog Rib (Tlicho) initiated.

  • 2001 - The Dehcho First Nation’s Framework Agreement does not address Acho Dene Koe claims in British Columbia and Yukon.

    This created uncertainty and problems for Acho Dene Koe land users in these jurisdictions.

  • 2002 - Acho Dene Koe’s claim is accepted by the British Columbia Treaty Commission.

  • 2003 - Writ filed with the British Columbia Supreme Court to protect Acho Dene Koe rights and title in British Columbia.

  • 2004 - Dehcho First Nation negotiations stall.

  • 2008 - Canada and the Government of the Northwest Territories accept a standalone land-claim from Acho Dene Koe First Nation.

    A Framework Agreement is drafted.

  • 2014 - Canada, the Government of the Northwest Territories and Acho Dene Koe First Nation complete an Agreement-in-Principle.

  • 2014 - Final Agreement negotiations begin

  • 2014 - The Acho Dene Koe First Nation initiates negotiations with Yukon and British Columbia.